CUMBRIA COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Cabinet held on Thursday, 3 February 2022 at 10.00 am at Council Chamber County Hall Kendal

PRESENT:

Mr SF Young (Leader) Mrs PA Bell Mrs A Burns Mr KA Little Mrs S Sanderson Mr DE Southward Mr P Thornton Mrs C Tibble

Officers in attendance:

Executive Director (People) and Acting Chief Executive, Executive Director - Corporate, Customer and Community Services, Director of Finance (Section 151 Officer), Chief Legal Officer, Area Manager, Cumbria Fire & Rescue Service, Leadership Support Officer - Labour Group, Leadership Support Officer - Liberal Democrat Group, Professional Lead - Democratic Services and Communications Manager

PART 1 ITEMS CONSIDERED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE PUBLIC AND PRESS

200 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Ms D Earl and Mrs J Willis.

201 DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest made on this occasion.

202 EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED, that the press and public be not excluded from any items on the agenda today.

203 STATEMENTS BY THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CABINET MEMBERS

There were no statements made at this meeting.

204 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

There were no public questions, petitions or statements made at this meeting.

205 JOINT COMMITTEES

Cabinet members had before them a report from the Chief Legal Officer, which asked Cabinet to consider the establishment of joint committees for the areas which would be covered by the two new unitary authorities (as required under the Structural Changes Order (SCO) within 14 days of the SCO coming into force.

Cabinet was also asked to consider the nominations for three members to sit on the Westmorland and Furness Joint Committee and three members to sit on the Cumberland Joint Committee, the delegation of any executive functions to be carried out by the Joint Committees once established, and a recommendation that Council noted Cabinet's decisions, agreed to the establishment of the Joint committees and the relevant nominations.

The Secretary of State had made a decision to implement the proposal for two new unitary authorities in Cumbria on an East-West geography, and was seeking Parliamentary approval for the necessary secondary legislation (the SCO) to implement the two Unitary Council proposal.

All Councils had received details of the SCO which was laid before Parliament on 24 January 2022 and which, subject to receiving Parliamentary approval, was likely to come into force in early March.

Under the draft SCO the County Council and the 3 District Councils in the new unitary area of Westmorland and Furness were required, within 14 days of the coming into force of the Order, to establish a joint committee for the purposes of preparing for and facilitating the efficient and timely transfer to the new Westmorland and Furness Council of the functions, property and liabilities which relate to the Westmorland and Furness Area. The County Council and 3 District Councils in the new unitary area of Cumberland had an identical requirement to establish a joint committee for the Cumberland area.

Under the SCO, these joint committees would be dissolved on the day following that on which the shadow authority for the relevant area held its first meeting.

Suggested terms of reference for the two new joint committees were attached at Appendix 1 to the report. These terms of reference were based on the responsibilities of the joint committees as set out in the draft SCO.

The SCO provides that the membership of each of the joint committees would be 12 being made up of 3 persons nominated by the County Council and 3 persons nominated by each of the District Councils. It also provided that in the case of the County Council the nominees for the Westmorland and Furness Joint Committee should be from divisions within the area covered by the committee and the nominees for the Cumberland Joint Committee should be from divisions within the area covered by that committee.

RESOLVED, that Cabinet

- Agrees to the establishment of the Westmorland and Furness Joint Committee and the Cumberland Joint Committee within 14 days of the SCO coming into force;
- (2) Nominates Councillors Peter Thornton, Patricia Bell and Anne Burns to sit on the Westmorland and Furness Joint Committee and Stewart Young, Keith Little and Celia Tibble to sit on the Cumberland Joint Committee;
- (3) Delegates the Executive functions within the Terms of Reference to the Westmorland and Furness Joint Committee and the Cumberland Joint Committee when established, within fourteen days of the SCO coming into force.
- (4) **RECOMMENDS** that Council agrees Cabinet's decision to establish the joint committees and the nominations to them.

The meeting ended at 10.10 am